Richard Sjunnesson

Official blog of Richard Sjunnesson (The Unguided)

Where the last command was given

Kategori: Allmänt

Q&A XXXI:
Send your questions to: [email protected]

Q: You have been a really inspiration to me and you are my idol. My question is what is your favorite song of all time and why? Mine is Bullet for my valentine “waking the demon” because I have been that situation but not snapped and killed someone lol. Plz may I have your autograph?

A: First off; good thing you didn’t kill someone. Those kinds of things will put you in jail, if you are not careful. Regarding your question; I had to think a bit one this one. But I’m pretty confident that I’m not lying all too much if I go with; “Welcome to Dying” or “Traveler in Time” with Blind Guardian. “Tales from the Twilight World” was the first Blind Guardian album I bought and it changed my entire life and perspective. I still get goose bumps listening to that album. Not a lot of music does that to me nowadays.


Tales from the Twilight World

Q: Hello Mr. Richard. I'm a big fan of The Unguided, but I am from Czech Republic. In Sweden there is a fan group that calls itself ,,Army of The Unguided´´ or 616 fans (since the days of SoSy). May I ask what it means to be a member or how its members are involved in such promotion The Unguided? Could give me an answer to at least some of these questions? Thanks so much and thanks for your time. The Unguided for life ! \m/
A:
Hi Mr. Czech Republic, Army of The Unguided is our own little “unofficial”-official-fan-group. There are a couple of those on Facebook as well to support the band. We’d like organize it a bit better with a dedicated webpage and proper membership with different perks for the members, but up to now we’ve not had the time to do that. It might be possible for the coming album! If you have ideas or want to get involved in this, please let us know.

 

Q: Hey Richard, I was wondering if you could give any tips for writing lyrics? I personally have an issue keeping the quality consistent, as well as the progression of the story. Thanks!
A:
I’ve addressed this before, but I think the essence is to get a good idea of the beginning and the end of the lyrics before you actually start writing. Whatever happens in between could be a bit more floating, but you should have an idea what you want to portray with your lyrics, what feeling you want to deliver and how to round it up and close the loop. Keep the choruses a bit more simplistic and catchy, while making the verses a bit more complex and intellectual is a formula I tend to roll with. I often start with the chorus and work it until I’m happy with the result, then I move on to “verse 1” and keep going chronologically. Another good tip is if you already have the music for the lyrics is to; close your eyes and listen to the song. What feeling does it stir in you? The first hint you get. That’s what you should go with! A neutral perception is worth its weight in gold. Once you’ve listen to the song a couple of times, it’s most likely gone, so make the first listen count! Listen with your heart, write with your heart and process the details with your mind.


Lyrics

Q: After reading your previous blogs, I came to the conclusion that u might not be the biggest fan of any kind of electronic music. But some days ago I came across a very interesting band called "The Browning". Even though I'm not a big fan of electronic music either, I like this band really much, because, in my opinion, they did a great job mixing electronic and metal parts. What do you think about them? If you don't know them yet, here’s a link of one of their songs.
A:
What did I do to mislead anyone thinking I don’t like electronic music? I like all kinds of music, just that I prefer being in a metal band making metal music. I listen to whatever music comes my way as long as there are good songs really. Anyway, I checked the video out, and I liked both the video and the song. It’s a funny coincidence. Earlier today I was scrolling around on Blabbermouth, and I read the band name on some topic, and was like; “The Browning”? Really!? And got this picture in my head of a giant bung hole in space, aimed towards earth, ready to take a huge, you know what, on all of mankind. But once I got to read the latest news on Geoff Tate that picture dissolved. Still, funny coincidence, since I haven’t heard of the band until today.

Q. Happy birthday, Richard! I was bored during my graveyard shift this morning and I found myself wondering: if the Unguided were a team of Power Rangers (Unguided Rangers?), what would your respective colours be? My personal opinion is that you'd be the Red Ranger, Roger = Blue, Roland = Green, Henric = Yellow and Richard Schill = Black. And if a female Ranger is needed then Ella could fit the part of Pink Ranger. What do you think? I mean, come on, how could this Red Ranger picture NOT suit you? (I don't recall seeing such a question answered in your blog before so I hope my memory is fine and I'm the first to ask it.)
A:
This is amusing and very disturbing at the same time. But I do think you got the coloring pinned down! Henric being the yellow gender-swapping ranger seems about right hehe. If we go up on stage like that, would everyone be willing to shut off their cameras and just enjoy the ride?


The Unguided

Q: Hey, just wondering, how much you charge for a feature in a song?
A:
Charge? What nonsense is that? Why would I charge for what takes some five minutes in my home studio to track? All features I’ve done have been entirely free obviously.

Q: Until you leaved Sonic Syndicate the ex band is still working and is still active or when you decided to go away the band was definitely disbanded?*
A:
Last I checked they are going in and out of hiatus, I’m not sure of their current status.

Q: There is a possibility to know your new Album name? :D
A: Yeah; TBA.


Sorry! 

Q: Hi, Richard! Just wondering, will some of the songs from the new album have titles in Swedish as you were planning to do before?
A: Yes, there’s one song with a Swedish title. There are no Swedish lyrics however, which I kind of planned for that particular tune. But it just didn’t fit in. For the next album I’ll give it another shot!

Q: Do you like the band What Tomorrow Brings?
A: I do, yes. I know all of them in the band. Well, perhaps not the the new(?) bassist(?) but still. And I’m extremely happy to see that they reached their charity goal to raise funds to the “Cancer foundation” and immensely hope for their singer, Kristoffer’s, swift recovery from his ongoing struggle.

Q: Short question, back to sonic syndicate times (oh lord, I know ;) ) who are Tom and Floji? roadies, groupies, whatsoever? They are in one of your sonic tv episodes trying to learn swedish.
A: Tom & Flo were featured in SonicTV Episode 4 and were both roadies, groupies, and whatsoever hehe. Actually, Tom is a good friend to the band and has been around since 2007 and our first German shows. He’s running a club in Stuttgart called Bleeding Nose and is also making magic in his company D-NINE. He’s a manager, booker and does a little bit of everything. Like a Swiss army knife really, only German. He’s also the guy behind The Unguided playing on Summer Breeze 2012 and filming this clip with his GoPro. Flo was our promotion guy on Nuclear Blast, he worked on “Only Inhuman” and “Love and Other Disasters”, and then he found his love in Finland and moved there to start his own promotion company. If someone remembers the blog entry where I was in Helsinki and checked out Blind Guardian at Tuska. Ella and I stayed at Flo’s and his wonderful girlfriend’s apartment during our time in Finland. Haven’t heard from him in a while now; we offered him to do the promotion work on “Hell Frost” but he was overloaded with work so he couldn’t do it at that time. Maybe the coming album opens up for a new opportunity, who knows? He’s a really talented PR-guy.


Tom 2008

Q: I know you won't remember someone who gave you a cookie when you came to Spain years ago with your old band, but anyway, what I really like to see is The Unguided breaking the Spanish scene down with your music. I was a fan of SS and the notice of Roland and you left the band was a pity, but I'm so glad of seeing you together again rocking out with your bro' too!!!! So, if I can do anything to bring you here, cause I'm f**king sure so much people would like to see you too, just let me know and I'll help you. And if you need a support band from here to play first and bring more people, I have a band and I know other bands too to do something legendary. Sorry for a loong message and thanks for reading it. Cheer up and rock!!
A: I remember every single person that gave me a cookie, in my entire life! That’s just one of those ridiculously important things, which you never tend to forget. Anyway, The Unguided in Spain would be awesome indeed but at this time, not very practical. I think we have to tie it together with some dates around southern Germany, France and maybe Switzerland (we all know how that went last time, through.) That would be our best shot I’d say. But I mean, we evaluate everything we get, so if there’s an offer from some club or promoter, our booking agents are all ears! You’ll find contact info on our website.

Q: Hey did you guys do any slight modifications to Singularity or Eye Of The Thylacine during the final stages of production for the new album? Like the same small changes you did to Pathfinder, Green Eyed Demon, and Betrayer Of The Code for their final album mix? Can't wait for the 2nd album!!
A: There are pretty big changes to those tracks actually. The biggest one being it’s a completely different mix from an entirely separate studio than the EP versions. There are new bass, new drums, and some new vocal takes and arrangements from both Roland and myself. New guitar sound as well, and also some lyrical changes! I’d say the step from Nightmareland EP songs to Hell Frost ALBUM is minimal if you see the changes on these two tracks on the coming album.


Upgrade

Q: Next week you will perform at Sunstorm Festival in Nordheim. I'm coming from Belgium especially to see you guys perform (6 hours' drive), because you are my number 1 band (since SoSy and now The Unguided). 4 July is my birthday so my question is: could I have a picture with you guys and have some autographs? It would be the perfect birthday gift ever!!
A: Hi birthday boy! I hope you got your pictures and autographs. I think you did, because we did mingle with the fans quite a lot at Sunstorm. Really good evening, that was!

Q:  Will the instrumental of "Singularity" and "Eye of the Thylacine" change in the new album (Like Green eyed demon & Pathfinder did on Hell Frost) ???
A: Answered above!

Q: After the new album is released...will you post the chronological order of the songs in accordance of the book of the unguided???
A: Actually, with how the running order of the coming album turned out, the songs are pretty much in chronological order story wise. With maybe one or two exceptions, but it should be about right.

Q: Hey Richard how's things? Just a quick question I just heard a rumor that you have been in talks with AJ a promoter of Soundwave Festival Australia is this true and if so how likely is it that you will join the lineup? I really hope to see you guys here in Australia
A: It’s true that AJ did contact us on Twitter and we got a mail address. But after that we haven’t heard anything, unfortunately.


Australia

Q: Can I use one of your songs in a YouTube video?
A: No.

Q: You probably get a billion messages but I'll shoot, anyway. I have a question: How do you get your harsh vocals so harsh yet so clean and so low yet so high? I'd love to know because your voice is just freakin amazing and I wanna learn how to sing harsh yet clean and low and high :3
A: Thanks for the compliment! If you look for early entries of this blog, there should be plenty of information regarding screaming.


Bro!

Q: Can you guys make a 1920x1080 resolution invaZion and/or upcoming album wallpaper. Would be appreciated.
A: Once the upcoming artworks have been released we’ll do something like that for sure!

 

Q: I'd like to ask you something. You are #1 of whole growlers, when I heard you 1st time (Denied), my adventure with MDM started. I'd like to learn Growl but I don’t know how I should start. Could you help me with that, write some hints or something like that? Thanks in advance.
A:
Same for you pal! There’s a lot of information regarding this in early entries of the blog. Just read up on it, I’m sure you’ll find a lot of helpful pointers!

Song of the day: Running wild - Little big horn

/Rich

Kommentera inlägget här: